Press release

'Agroecology Europe' is launched



Agroecology Europe, a European association to promote agroecology, has been created on the 27th of January 2016 in Graux Estate, Belgium with the participation of 19 founders from 10 countries.

Agroecology Europe intends to place agroecology high on the European agenda of sustainable development of farming and food systems. It wants to foster interactions between actors in sciences, practices and social movements, by facilitating knowledge sharing and action. It aims at the creation of an inclusive European community of professionals, practitioners, and more generally societal stakeholders in agroecology.

Agroecology Europe is open to all individuals, groups and institutions interested in promoting agroecology, and aims to define its agenda through their participatory engagement. A website is being designed and will be launched soon.

People willing to express their interest in **Agroecology Europe** can send an email to the Secretary: <u>alain.peeters@agroecology-europe.org</u>

Founders of the association:

- **Belgium**: Alain Peeters (RHEA Research Centre), Elisabeth Simon (Graux Estate pilot farm), Pierre Stassart (Liège University), Alexis de Liedekerke, Florian Delespesse.
- Czech Republic: J. Moudrý (University of South Bohemia).
- Denmark: Jørgen Eriksen (Aarhus University).

France: Stéphane Bellon (INRA Ecodéveloppement), Alexander Wezel (ISARA-Lyon).

- Germany: Maria Finckh (University of Kassel-Witzenhausen), Marcos A. Lana (Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research, ZALF), Sabine Zikeli (University of Hohenheim).
- Italy: Paolo Bàrberi (Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna-Pisa), Paola Migliorini (University of Gastronomic Science).
- Spain: F. Xavier Sans Serra (Universitat de Barcelona), Eva Torremocha (IFOAM-Organics International).
- Sweden: Erik Steen Jensen (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)
- The Netherlands: Jeroen Groot (Wageningen University).

United Kingdom: Michel Pimbert (Coventry University).

A first board has been elected to initiate and steer the development of **Agroecology Europe** in the next months. Its members are: Stéphane Bellon (President), Alexander Wezel (Vice-President), Alain Peeters (Secretary), Paolo Bàrberi, Paola Migliorini, Eva Torremocha and Sabine Zikeli.

